Walking Out-of-Term (WOOT) is when a student who is nearing the completion of their degree, or someone who has recently graduated, requests the privilege of walking in a semester’s ceremony other than the one they are graduating, or have graduated, in.

There are several reasons a person may request to WOOT, including, but not limited to:

  • Medical hardship associated with their scheduled graduation weekend
  • Military relocation for the graduate or spouse during their scheduled graduation weekend
  • International VISA travel restriction for the graduate or immediate family members associated with their scheduled graduation weekend

Approval of a WOOT request is at the discretion of the college, and subject to the availability of seats in the requested ceremony.

A person approved to WOOT at a ceremony will be permitted to participate in the ceremony as a graduate would; their name will be called, they’ll walk across the stage and shake their dean’s hand. WOOT participants would take part in the activities involved in the ceremony.

However, persons who are WOOTing are not graduates of that semester, and are not extended additional rights or privileges of graduates of that semester, including, but not limited to:

  • Having their name printed in the commencement program for that semester
  • Receiving a diploma in that semester

Click here to view the full UF WOOT Policy

Please note: WOOT applications for the Fall '21 semester are due by October 11.

Application for WOOT Request

To apply to WOOT, fill out the form and submit it to the appropriate person in your college for review. 
WOOT applications are due by October 11.

CALS: Dr. Joel Brendemuhl brendj@ufl.edu 
ARTS: Jennifer Hodges jhodges@arts.ufl.edu
DCP: Pat De Jong patricde@dcp.ufl.edu 
EDU: Marcy Davis graduation@coe.ufl.edu  
HHP: Sarah Eberhart seberhart@ufl.edu 
H.W. CoE: Janna Underhill janna@eng.ufl.edu 
J&C: CJC Advising advising@jou.ufl.edu 
CLAS: CLAS Advising CLASgraduation@advising.ufl.edu
MED:
NURS: Dominic Purcell dom.purcell@ufl.edu 
PHARM: COP Graduate Programs graduateprograms@cop.ufl.edu 
PHHP: Candice Vogtle cvogtle@phhp.ufl.edu
VET MED: Sara Rubinstein s.rubinstein@ufl.edu 
WCB: upload the form here WCB Form Upload Page

WOOT Application